Hansel and Gretel Redux

H G

I felt like illustrating a scene from another classic children’s tale. This time I chose the Grimms Brothers “Hansel and Gretel”. I’m happy with the final result but it ended up slightly different from the original story. One thing I like about illustrating such iconic stories is that you start adding stuff that were never mentioned in the original. Where did this evil bunny sidekick came from?
One last note, now that I think about it, this illustration is starting to remind me a scene from a movie. Doesn’t this witch looks a little like Jabba the Hutt? Damn you unconscious.

2 responses

  1. THE best witch!

    18/03/2014 at 00:50

Leave a Reply

